The story so far

Mom, will I ever be this tall?I was born on a cold February day in 1975 as the first child of Bodil and Jørgen Pagh. After living the first few months of my life in Copenhagen (capital of Denmark), we moved to Esbjerg, by the North Sea coast, to get closer to our relatives. When I was three years old my younger brother, Mikkel, arrived, and we soon after moved to Vejle on the eastern coast of Jutland. Here I would spend my adolescence, first going to kindergarden at Kirkebakkens Børnehave (1978-81) and then going to elementary school at Kirkebakkeskolen (1981-91). I did a lot of sports then (soccer, swimming, table tennis, badminton, tennis, volleyball, basketball, golf). At the same time I got interested in computers, saving my pocket money to buy first the ZX Spectrum, then the Commodore 64 and the Amiga 500. In 1985 my parents worked at a hospital in Saudi Arabia for 5 months, during which we all lived there. Then, in 1986 my sister Maria was born - this time we didn't move. In 1991, after graduation from 9.c, I started high school at Rødkilde Amtsgymnasium, where I got increasingly interested in mathematics. I also found the time to engage in philosophical discussions in the school magazine VIM, and held the post as cashier for the student council. I participated in the "JP Forsker" science competition, and in the "Georg Mohr" mathematics competition. Upon graduation from 3.y in 1994, I went to study mathematics and computer science at Aarhus University. After a few years of interesting studies, I decided to major in computer science, since the most catchy mathematics was done at the computer science department(!) In 1998 I was awarded a PhD scholarship, and began doing my best to learn the craft (art?) of computer science research at the BRICS centre for basic research in computer science. In December 1999 I obtained the degree of "cand. scient." (equivalent to MSc). During 1999 I was chairman of Juniorklubben. My thesis defence was in the fall of 2002. In August 2002 I joined the recently founded IT University of Copenhagen as assistant professor. In the summer of 2003 I married Anna Ostlin Pagh, and my daughter Selma was born. In the fall of 2005 we moved to Eslöv in Sweden, commuting to Copenhagen. In December 2006 our second daughter, Vera, was born. In 2012 we moved to Hjärup, Sweden. In 2009-2011 I was head of the Efficient Computation group, and 2013-16 I was head of the Theoretical Computer Science section. In 2013 I was appointed full professor. In fall 2018 I spent a semester at Simons Institute for the Theory of Computing at UC Berkeley. January 2019 to December 2020 I was a visiting faculty researcher at Google Research. In December 2020 I became a professor of theoretical computer science at Copenhagen University.

Some facts

Name: Rasmus Pagh, pronounced 'ras-m\u\s 'p\A\ (with \u\ as as oo in foot, and \A\ as a in ace)

Date of birth: February 6th 1975

Pronoun: He/him

Erdös number: 3 (via Martin Dietzfelbinger and Noga Alon)

Languages: Fluent in Danish, Swedish, and English. Knows some German

Last modified: January 14, 2021